Saturday, October 3, 2009

NVQ : National Vocational Qualifications in IT

NVQ stands for National Vocational Qualifications. This is available to people in the UK, and is one of several qualifications that employers have been heard. If you want to work with computers, and live in England, became a certified NVQ is a pretty good route to take. These certificates are used to have a bad reputation, and held in such low regard that the letters disparaging NVQ Not Very Qualified dubbed. Not anymore, though. Course materials for all NVQs were radically overhauled a few years ago, to great success. NVQ in a subject do these days involves quite a lot to learn.

An NVQ in Information Technology is divided into two distinct categories: User, and Practitioners.

Practitioners: Installing software, computer maintenance, desktop support, technical role
User: Using the software package in the office environment

There are three levels to aim for the NVQ, which category you are studying for.

NVQ Level One in the field of Information Technology - User

You need 40 points to pass the NVQ level one in Information Technology. There are mandatory units worth 15 points, and the other 25 points can be made from about 15 units optional. The most popular optional units are word processing (10 points), spreadsheets (10 points) and databases (10 points). Another popular optional units are: email (5 points), Internet (5 points), Internet security (5 points).

Although NVQ level one pretty basic, and should not be too long to complete, can be quite useful if you know little about computers. Here is a list of research:

Mandatory Unit
> Make selective use of IT (15 points)

Optional Unit
> Operate computer (10 points)
> IT troubleshooting for users (5 points)
> IT maintenance for users (5 points)
> IT Security for users (5 points)
> Internet and intranets (5 points)
> Email (5 points)
> Word processing software (10 points)
> Spreadsheet software (10 points)
> Database software (10 points)
> Website software (10 points)
> Artwork and imaging software (10 points)
> Presentation software (10 points)
> Evaluate the impact of IT (5 points)

The idea is that you do the mandatory units, and brings you choose from the others. But the total has to add up to at least 40 points.

NVQ Level Two in Information Technology - User

Subject to the level two more or less the same as level one. The difference is how much you need to learn before you are eligible. At level one, you only need 40 points to pass; at level two, you need 100. Once again, there are compulsory units (worth 25 points now), and about 15 others. Optional units will be worth 20 and 15 points respectively. You need more in-depth knowledge to pass the second level.

NVQ Level Three in the field of Information Technology - User

If you miss three levels were equivalent to about A Level, which is a pre-university qualification in the UK for 16 and 17 years. You need 180 points to get a level three NVQ. Unit must now worth 35 points, while the optional units 35 and 30. Who learned to level three much stronger, and you'll become very skilled when you're done! Many universities are taking the IT students who have passed the NVQ level 3.

NVQ Level One to Three in the field of Information Technology - Practitioners

Poin yang ditawarkan untuk kualifikasi dalam NVQ Praktisi IT adalah sama seperti User di atas. So for level one, you need 40 points to pass. Different subjects, though. To get an idea about whether this is for you, here are some popular:

Compulsory unit (you need two things)
> Develop personal and organizational effectiveness (5 points)
> Health and safety in ICT and contact center (5 points)

Optional Unit
> Customer Care (10 points)
> Software installation and upgrades (10 points)
> Operating Systems (10 points)
> Suggestions and technical assistance (5 points)
> Diagnosis of technical errors (10 points)
> Working with ICT hardware and equipment (10 points)

When you work your way through each level NVQ, the learning more difficult. Reached a level three and you can get a job at a help desk environment, with a decent entry-level salaries. If you want to move to a higher qualification in a support or a role the network, obtain NVQ level three qualification is a very good place to start.

Before : ECDL : European Computer Driving Licence

No comments:

Post a Comment