Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Work in the NHS

AMSPAR stands for Association of Medical Secretaries, Practice Managers, Administrators, and receptionist. Has two main roles: to support workers in this region, and to promote the qualification. Also granting body recognized by the British Department for Education and Skills, they have several certificates than can help you get a job in the NHS. Four they can award certificate is:

     1. The Diploma in Primary Care Management, Level 5
     2. Advanced Diploma for Medical Secretaries, 3rd Floor
     3. Intermediate Diploma in Medical Reception, 2nd Floor
     4. Certificate in Medical Terminology for Non-Clinical Professionals, Level 3

Intermediate Diploma in Medical Reception

The first certificate worth doing if you do not have a job in the NHS is number three on the list above - Intermediate Diploma in Medical Reception, Level 2. Getting a qualification you can get a job as a frontline staff member at a health center, for example. In this kind of work, you will meet and greet patients as they come, set an appointment, in cooperation with doctors and nurses, etc. Known as IDMR, it is a qualification which is recognized nationally in the UK.

This course consists of four modules, and you must pass each one to obtain the qualification. All four modules are:

      * Module 1 - Health, Community and Social Services
      * Module 2 - Medical Office Practice and Reception Skills
      * Module 3 - Medical Aspects of Work Acceptance
      * Module 4 - Medical Reception Work Experience

You must pass three written exams, and of course the task. Module 4, work experience, is a complex module. However, a good provider should be able to arrange this for you. (To see a list of approved course providers, visit this page on your site AMSPAR

This course lasted for about 12 months, and can be done by a graduate school, and adult students.

Advanced Diploma for Medical Secretaries

Advanced Diploma for Medical Secretaries can be a good next step, after you get
a IDMR. You can, however, take the Medical Secretary Diploma without obtaining a certificate Medical Reception. Do not be misled by the title, by the way: This qualification is for people who want to become secretary of Medicine, than the people who had become secretary of Medicine.

Medical Secretary, you have a wider choice when it comes to where you work: hospitals, general practice, private practice, research, pharmaceutical industry, and many more besides. But your main task is hard to pin down! Consultation with patients and health workers is one way to look at the job. May be involved audio typing and medical word processing, though. Many people, both male and female, are taking this qualification as a way for management posts.

There are five modules to complete this qualification:

      * Module 1 - Administration and Legal Aspects relating to the NHS and Social Services
      * Module 2 - Business Documentation to the Secretary of the Medical Practices
      * Module 3 - Medical Office Practice
      * Module 4 - Medical Aspects of Work Secretary
      * Module 5 - Work Experience

You must pass four written exams, graduation to get work experience, as well as tickets to audio typing and medical word processing. May take up to two years before you get the qualifications, so there are a lot of work involved.

But if you want to start in the NHS, and not like a nursing job, then get one of the two qualifications can be a good step.


BTEC in Information Technology

The BTEC is a fairly new qualifications in the UK, and the letters stood for Business and Technology Education Council. These vocational qualifications in nature, which means that the emphasis is on employment and gain skills for the workplace. They also can be used to obtain a place at university, because they are roughly equivalent to A Level. You can do BTEC in a variety of subjects. There are three BTEC qualifications are available, called BTEC Nationals:

      * BTEC National Award
      * BTEC National Certificate
      * BTEC National Diploma

(It is doubtful, however, that the person interviewing you for a job will know the difference between the three!)

BTEC National Award for IT

There are six units in this qualification, and take all six is equal to one A Level. The values of Pass, Merit, and the difference. A BTEC National Award with Distinction value is like getting an A. A Level

The BTEC National Award for IT takes 360 hours to complete. This is called Guided Learning Hours. The focus is on skills for the workplace, and the curriculum developed in consultation with the employer. That means you'll get the training that is designed to provide skills that employers seek.

Learning to BTEC National Award in IT involves taking two core courses worth 60 Hours Guided Learning, and 4 other units to form the 360 hours. Each unit will be worth 60 hours.

Core Unit

      * Communication and employability skills for IT
      * Computer System

Other units

There are more than 50 other units to choose from, and we will not list them all. Here are some, though, to give you an idea of things you can learn.

      * Information Systems
      * Advanced Database Skills
      * Advanced Spreadsheet Skills
      * IT Systems Analysis and Design
      * Client Side adaptation of Web Pages


BTEC National qualifications are intended as a way to get your key skills you need in the modern world of work. Because they are compiled with the help of employers, they can be a route to get a decent IT career. If you are not interested in getting a job with a computer, or any job at all, it might be better to leave them on the shelf. If you are planning to go to university, whatever your age, then the BTEC National Award can really help. As long as you get a Distinction, which is!
      * Maintenance of Computer Systems
      * Principles of Software Design and Development
      * Installation and Upgrade Software
      * Digital Graphics and Computers
      * Computer Animation
      * IT Technical Support
      * IT Systems Troubleshooting and Repair

Scale average time to BTEC National Award in IT is about 1 year.

The BTEC National Certificate

You need to take 12 units to obtain this certificate. If you do, it is seen as roughly equal to two A Levels. Once again it's Pass, Merit, and the difference in the end. But this time the letters twice (PP, MM, or DD)

Taking all 12 units is 720 hours of study, so double the commitment for the BTEC National Award. Roughly the same subject, but your specialist skills to get more depth. Now there are four core units, but:

Core Unit

      * Communication and employability skills for IT
      * Computer System
      * Information Systems
      * Impact of Use of IT systems in Business

Other units remain the same, but you may want to specialize in something. Once again, each unit is worth 60 points, and you can take a maximum of eight units.

Scale average time to BTEC National Certificate in IT is about 2 years.

The BTEC National Diploma

18 units must be taken to BTEC National Diploma. If you get a diploma, you will have the equivalent of three A Levels. The letters three times to Pass, Merit, and Distinction (PPP, MMM, or DDD).

For the BTEC National Diploma, you will be doing the core of six units, worth 60 hours each.

Core Unit

      * Communication and employability skills for IT
      * Computer System
      * Information Systems
      * Impact of Use of IT systems in Business
      * Organizational Security System
      * E-Commerce

Another very special unit now, and you are allowed to take up to 12 of them. Each unit is 60 hours. In total, you will need to 1080 Guided Learning Hours before you will get a BTEC National Diploma.